top of page

Have a Vision? Write On!

As a visual learner, I have to write everything down. I've learned to make lists for everything to ensure I remember dates, shopping lists, names, and most importantly, goals. Habakkuk 2:2 says, "And the Lord answered me, and said, ‘Write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it.’” The Lord gave Moses tablets on which He'd written the Ten Commandments. He didn’t just expect Moses to remember them.


I learned that when my son was old enough to read, he accomplished tasks and chores more easily and more efficiently when I wrote them down. My mom used to get so frustrated with me because she'd tell me several things to do and I'd often return, asking her to repeat the list. Had she written them, I would have been more compliant initially. Auditory processing was not my strength, so I learned to write instructions down.


The phrase "It Is Written" appears in the Bible 31 times. This further highlights the importance of penning ideas on paper. Written goals bring clarity and focus. One psychological advantage of writing ideas down is that your brainstorming becomes more ambitious. Additionally, you learn more, you remember more, you're less likely to become distracted, you use less mental power and you stay wise as you age.


“When you write down your ideas, you automatically focus your full attention on them. Few if any of us can write one thought and think another at the same time. Thus a pencil and paper make excellent concentration tools.” Michael Leboeuf


Lastly, a written agreement has more value than a verbal one. It’s not easy defending a gentleman’s handshake in court. A message in black and white is not quickly revoked or refuted. That said, have a vision? Write it down and make it plain! Ready to take the writing a step further by publishing, contact Hadassah’s Crown Publishing at soncunnlev@gmail.com.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page